What would you do?

media

I did not allow my little one to get Instagram, but she did behind my back – I am still upset about it.  Then she posted some pictures there of her friend and herself with questions “who do you like”.  Not much time went by, somebody’s mother called the other girls mom and told her about it.  Mom tried to reach my daughter to get that post off, but could not and ended up calling me.  After I got hold of my daughter, I told her to take it off and apologies to her friends mom ( she is my friend too).  And she did, but then, she went on parenting my daughter – no, no, no.  You should accept the apology and stop communication with the child at that point, lets deal with the rest of hurt feelings as parents and talk as grownups should do. The result is :post is off, electronics out of reach for my child, friendship-questionable for both moms and kids.  My question is – was it worth it?  Correct me if I am wrong, but may be mom should deal directly with other mom, she should’ve called me as soon as she found out of that mischief. Is that too much to ask or we get wrapped up in our kids lives to the point that we start living them?

Sometimes I wish I can take my kids and go back in time, so I can show them how world used to be without internet, Intagram, Facebook, Vine, and what ever else is out there for them to get in trouble with.  Kids have a lot of challenges and social media adds more stress to their lives.  And we as parents, sometimes, are not reacting like parents, but as kids would do and that is disturbing. We forget how to communicate face to face, we subject ourselves to the language of texting and emoticons, and then we wonder why our kids loosing their touch with reality?

The occurrence of two people being in the same room and texting to each other is disturbing, but kids do it and we allow it.  In one of the old movies that I watched this week, one phrase was still very much relevant: ” People forgot how to be with other people. Two of them lived in the same apartment building, but on different floor and only met at our studio.  With television this days, people don’t interact, they hide in their apartments and don’t even know who their neighbor is”- how true is that. We embraced the technology because it makes it easier for us, we text, we twitte, we update status – and it covers all bases and reaches all “friends”, but why? I think it is because we want to be liked and recognised for our accomplishments, and it is addictive.  My biggest problem with that is kids involvement.  Some of them are too young to be on Instargam or Facebook because they are not mature enough.  Remember your first time out there – what do I do? What should I push, post, say? And then privacy settings –  how to work it, how to protect myself?

It was a good lesson to my kid, she will live and learn and hopefully not do it again.  We will make friends and we will lose a few along the way, but we keep moving.  Information overload is intoxicating and there are so much to learn that you can talk about with your friends, that there are absolutely no need to subject yourself or your friends to unnecessary scrutiny of the social media. Somethings should stay private.

Without mysteries, life would be very dull indeed. What would be left to strive for if
everything were known?
”- Charles de Lint

